Remembering war dogs, adopting retired military dogs & more

lemish.jpgA couple of months ago, I heard from Mike Lemish, a fellow Golden lover as you can see, his pictured with his guy Sedona. Mike is the official Historian for the Vietnam Dog Handler Association (VDHA).
viet.jpg

The VDHA was organized in 1993 by a group of six veteran war dog handlers that served during the Vietnam Conflict. One of their original goals was to never give up the search to re-unite veteran war dog handlers and honor the memory of their war dog partners. As a result, the group has grown from six to almost 3000 members.

war.jpgMike is the author of the seminal war dog book, “War Dogs: A History of Loyalty and Heroism“. This book was originally published in 1996 and tells the history of the U.S. K-9 Corps. Now in paperback, War Dogs provides an eye-opening look at unsung canine heroes from World War I to the present. Terriers, shepherds, beagles, collies, huskies, and Dobermans are only a few of the breeds that have pulled sleds, searched caves and bunkers, and even parachuted into combat. Mike has collected true stories and rare photos that reflect the strong bonds that have formed between war dogs and their masters as they worked together in dangerous situations.

Mike is finishing up my second book with the working title “Forever Forward: K-9 Operations in Vietnam 1960-1972“. This is not just about Vietnam but also tells about the continuing effort to educate the public about military working dogs so that they receive proper recognition. Although not a military dog handler, he is proud to be part of the group that persuaded the government to enact a law to allow citizens to adopt retired military dogs (not done since the close of WWII).

Mike has just shared a wonderful new website with me: www.militaryworkingdogadoptions.com . This site will aid in placing many of these wonderful dogs into good homes to have the retirement they so richly deserve!

ther.jpg

This letter comes from Debbie Kandoll (site creator) pictured above with Military Working Dog (Ret.) Benny B163.

As many of you already know, Mike and I adopted a retired Military Working Dog (MWD) in January 2008. From the process, I discovered that the “How To’s” of MWD were not clear, and as a result some retiring MWDs fall through the cracks and are euthanized simply because their time for placement has run out.

I passionately wanted to do SOMETHING to HELP, and since I can’t adopt them ALL, this website to disseminate information is the next best thing! Please check out my new Military Working Dog Adoptions website, and forward it to anyone you think would have an interest in a MWD Adoption.

Visit the site to learn more and do go learn about Benny’s story, and how at age 10, he has already started out on a second career as a Therapy Dog.

4 thoughts on “Remembering war dogs, adopting retired military dogs & more

  1. I am the wife of a disabled veteran. I am so proud to see someone helping the Military working dogs. I would like to recieve some more information on this is you would be so kind to send it to me. My whole family is Military, in just about every branch. I am also am a devout dog lover whole would like to help in placing of these dogs. Let me know what I can do to help. I am also interested in adopting one for our family. My sister in law just lost both of her legs, and I know that these dog would make great therapy dogs. I am sorry if this does not make much sense, but my heart goes out to these brave dogs who deserve a chance at a happy and carefree retirement. God bless you all!
    sincerely.
    Daisy

  2. I READ AN ARTICLE THIS MORNING IN OUR LOCAL NEWSPAPER ABOUT MWDS AND MR. AIELLO.

    I HAVE THOUGHT I SHOULD REALLY GET ANOTHER DOG SINCE MY CHOW WHO WAS MY BEST FRIEND HAD TO BE PUT DOWN DUE TO TUMORS THAT SHE GOT ON HER HEART. SHE WAS WITH ME FOR 7 YEARS AND I LOVED HER SO VERY MUCH. IT HAS TAKEN THESE 2 YEARS SINCE SHE IS GONE TO FINALLY KNOW THAT I COULD LOVE ANOTHER DOG.

    I LIVE ALONE IN FLORIDA AS I’M A WIDOW , 67 YEARS OLD, VERY ACTIVE AND HAVE AN ACRE OF GROUND WITH 2 LARGE DOG AREAS THAT I HAD FOR MAI-LING AND A DOGGY DOOR FOR HER TO COME AND GO IN AND OUT AS SHE PLEASED.

    I’M VERY INTERESTED IN HELPING ANOTHER ANIMAL IF I COULD.

    THANK YOU.

  3. I had a drug dog from the army, he did 2 years in a prison in Ciincinnatti, ohio. He was so well manered. I lost him a month ago (cancer) he was 13 1/2. I rescued him fom a rescue leaque, I would like to find another golden retriever if at all possible. Please help me find another goldie!!! If you find any or could send pictures of one I would greatly appreciate it. Thank You
    Lynette Regoli

Leave a comment