Re-visiting Old Wounds

It seems no matter what I’ve tried to do, convicted felon Scott Shields, keeps up his lying and cheating ways. It’s downright embarrassing when you consider that I have an entire category with close to 40 separate postings devoted to this idiot.

Sadly, it all started on 9/11 at the time of Ground Zero when we all became attached to the images of brave men with their Search & Rescue Dogs combing the destruction for signs of life.

Long story short, Scott misrepresented himself and the work he was supposedly doing on the pile, getting me to collect over $1000 for him, getting a Battery Park apt, etc. I continued to be concerned about his senior-aged Bear, actually arranging for free hydrotherapy sessions within walking distance to his newly (and, while I didn’t know then, illegally) obtained NYC apartment. It was when I was contacted by the hydro-therapist that Scott was not keeping his appointments (I found out he was instead walking Bear for several hours daily on the hot NYC streets telling his stories & trying to get money) that I ended the relationship and removed all mention of him from my website.

Bearsdad or Bearsdad2, as he calls himself, was merely consumed with himself above all others, and innocent Bear suffered as a result. His narcissism trumped all as he attempted to trade in on tragedy for his manipulated sense of fame.

I never tire of watching this short, but spot on, video clip of Scott talking to a group of youngsters (he’s done many of these talks btw). According to self-proclaimed Ground Zero hero, Scott Shields, his Golden Retriever “Bear was the first Search and Rescue Dog inside the World Trade Center. He found the most live people.”  . . . . . . . . . (now wait for it).

THERE WERE NO LIVE FINDS MADE BY A DOG.

It seems that Scott is now behind a new channel at Youtube where he is trying again to rehabilitate his reputation by slandering others and continuing to deny the fraud that he carried out and for which he spent 8 months in federal prison. And, he is unknowingly (to the actual person) registering a FDNY member at Youtube and then making fictitious comments under his name. Due to spam, I screen every comment that comes to my channel so Scott is making little headway with me with his ridiculous postings. But, he is working hard elsewhere.

I continue to have folks contact me about meeting Scott—along with his current Golden Retriever of course—at various dog venues and flea markets where he continues to peddle his wares and lies. But, the following correspondence that I just received this week was quite insightful, as it described Scott before the time of his Ground Zero adventures.

I googled Scott Shields just out of curiosity as to where he’d gone, and hit your website.

I met him while walking my dog in Byram, Connecticut about 1999/2000. (He did actually have a very lovable, older golden named Bear.) He was wearing some sort of “jump suit” with some sort of “emergency” patches on the sleeves, and then proceeded to lie down on the sidewalk in front of me, in the park, stating he “was tired”.  He had an outboard boat with the word “safety” stenciled on it in blue. He told me that the Red Cross did not appreciate him, because he “thought outside the box” and that was why he couldn’t pass any Red Cross leadership courses.

I remember thinking that he didn’t just think outside the box, he thought off the shelf. Other people who I met who walked dogs stated that he was wacko. He was strange enough that I have remembered him over time, even after a brief meeting.

I believe that you are not incorrect in pursuing this issue.

5 thoughts on “Re-visiting Old Wounds

  1. Rochelle,
    You go girl!!!! I am so glad this is getting out and letting people know about what he did. Alot of people lost love ones that day and to do what he is doing is trouble. This guy doesn’t have a heart. Thanks in filling us in on this.

  2. I LIVE IN THE YARDVILLE NJ AREA, JUST BEFORE SCOTT WENT TO PRISON HE AND HIS SISTER WHERE STAYING WITH FRIENDS NEAR MY HOME. MY WIFE AND I HAVE TWO GOLDENS AND HAVE RUN INTO HIM FROM TIME TO TIME AND HE HAS TRYED TO TELL US HIS TALL TAILS WHICH WE KNEW WHERE ALL FALSE AND TOLD HIM SO. HE SAYS HE LOVES HIS DOG TEDDY SO MUCH WELL LET ME TELL YOU MY WIFE AND I HAD TO RETURN TEDDY TO HIM (ABOUT TWO BLOCKS AWAY) AS THE DOG SHOWED UP AT OUR HOUSE AND MR SCOTT DID NOT EVEN KNOW HE HAD GOTTEN OUT, BUT EVEN WITH THAT HE STARTED TO SPEW OUT HIS LINE OF BS. THE FIRST TIME WE MET HIM MY WIFE WAS WALKING OUR TWO GOLDENS AND THEY WHERE JUST PUPS, HE WAS RIDING BY IN HIS FAMOUS SUV AND STOPPED, WHEN HE CAME OVER ONE OF THE PUPS STARTED TO JUMP UP (WHICH PUPS TEND TO DO) AND HE KNEED THE DOG IN THE CHEST VERY HARD AND SAID THAT YOU NEED TO DO THAT TO STOP THE DOG FROM JUMPING UP WHICH IS TOTAL BS. WE HAVE HAD GOLDENS FOR THE PAST 15 YEARS AND KNOW THAT YOU DO NOT TREAT ANY DOG THAT WAY. AS FAR AS I’M CONCERNED HE AND HIS SISTER CAN STAY IN PRISON FOREVER (HOPEFULLY THEY DON’T COME BACK TO YARDVILLE EVEN TO VISIT AND DON’T EVER GET ANOTHER GOLDEN OR ANY ANIMAL PERIOD).

  3. OMG……He is now going to Thompson Park in Jamesburg dog park spreading his lies…….his dog Theodore is constantly humping him and we all told him we were going to call the police if it continues. He is a wacko still spreading his tails….in his mind he believes them. He comes across so nice…OMG

  4. I can’t believe this!
    I just came from Thompson Park in Jamesburg/Monroe, NJ, and sure enough – ‘Scott’ was there – with his very aggressive, older golden. I have a three-year old golden and we were walking OUTSIDE the dog park as my dog has not yet been fixed. From a DISTANCE when his dog saw/smelled us he was growling and barking at me/us. When I stopped at the dog water fountain outside the fenced area, Scott’s dog was right at the fence. Scott’s dog showed a terrible, fierce growling face at my dog – my dog became agitated and growled.

    I remembered this dog from the past and knew I was outside and not in the wrong. His dog went nuts since he couldn’t get near my dog and actually attacked another smaller dog who came by to see what was going on. He yelled over to me and said “Your dog’s not fixed I guess?” I said – “Nope – that’s why I’m out here.” When I turned back to see where his dog was, Scott was laying on top of the dog to keep him down! – Oh yeah – I want my dog in there with him and his dog? – I don’t think so!

    Turned out, I past a very nice guy who shed some light on this ‘Scott’ and added – HIS DOG IS NOT FIXED!!! – and he IS inside the fenced in area.

    Not too long ago, now I know his name to be Scott, read me the riot act. I let my golden in the fenced in area when there were NO DOGS IN THERE or around – then I saw him coming (not knowing at that time anything about him) and started to leave only to have his dog ATTACK my dog! I was scarred to death. My golden reacted aggressively – a side of him I had yet to see. I said “I’m leaving, I’m leaving!” “You can’t come in here unless the animal is fixed!” Gees! I thought, his dog went out of control in an instant!

    How do we put a stop to this guy?!

    Forewarned is forearmed!

    Yikes!

Leave a Reply

