Golden Retriever Rescuer & Author, David Rosenfelt

We have detailed hundreds of famous folks who are owned by Goldens, many wonderful authors included in the ranks.

One of these celebs is David Rosenfelt, who just loves to utilize Golden themes in his GReat books of fiction.

David actually describes himself at his site as a novelist with 37 dogs! He further says this:

A number of years ago, I left the movie marketing business, to the sustained applause of hundreds of disgruntled producers and directors. I decided to try my hand at writing. I wrote and sold a bunch of feature films, none of which ever came close to being actually filmed, and then a bunch of TV movies, some of which actually made it to the small screen. It’s safe to say that their impact on the American cultural scene has been minimal.

About five years ago, my wife and I started the Tara Foundation, named in honor of the greatest Golden Retriever the world has ever known. We rescued almost 4,000 dogs, many of them Goldens, and found them loving homes. Our own home quickly became a sanctuary for those dogs that we rescued that were too old or sickly to be wanted by others. They surround me as I write this. It’s total lunacy, but it works, and they are a happy, safe group.

Here is David with some of the dogs he has rescued.

Here are many of his Golden themed books. Enjoy!

PLAY DEAD
Few can rival attorney Andy Carpenter’s affection for golden retrievers, especially his own beloved Tara. After he astonishes a New Jersey courtroom by successfully appealing another golden’s death sentence, Andy discovers that this gentle dog is a key witness to a murder that took place five years before. Andy pushes the boundaries of the law even further as he struggles to free an innocent man by convincing an incredulous jury to take canine testimony seriously. It will take all the tricks Andy’s fertile mind can conceive to get to the bottom of a remarkable chain of impersonations and murder, and save a dog’s life-and his own-in the process. Click here to read an excerpt.

____________________
____________________

DEAD CENTER
Trading the refineries and factories of Paterson for the frozen pastures of Findlay, Wisconsin, Andy soon finds himself in a small town handling a big-time double homicide case. He looks into Jeremy’s romance with one of the victims…and the possible involvement of a bizarre religious cult—one that may sanction the most unholy, and vicious, of acts. While Andy tries to save Jeremy, make sense of his love life, and find a decent pizza for his beloved dog, Tara, the secrets of an ultra-religious community begin to rain down on him like bricks from a cracked fortress. Click here to read an excerpt.

____________________
____________________

BURY THE LEAD

His streak of murder case acquittals made him a regular on cable talk shows. His recent $22 million inheritance bought him a dog rescue operation named the Tara Foundation after his own beloved golden retriever. Yet after turning down cases left and right, Andy Carpenter thinks he’s facing a midlife crisis. He knows he needs to get back to some real work as fast as a felonious world will allow. Click here to read an excerpt.

____________________
____________________

FIRST DEGREE
An unabashed animal lover, Andy Carpenter has established a fast reputation as that rare lawyer who saves both dogs and humans from Death Row. Lately, with his newfound fortune, he has given up his home in the fashionable suburbs and returned to the house in which he grew up in the asphalt heart of Paterson. These days his office is eerily quite, except for the scraping pen of his secretary, Edna, as she navigates across and down the New York Times crossword puzzle. Though his wallet isn’t hurting, Andy’s soul hungers for a case to sink his legal teeth into. he’s about to get his wish. And it’ll be a first degree kick in the head. Click here to read an excerpt.

____________________
____________________

OPEN AND SHUT
Attorney Andy Carpenter’s legal maneuvers are legion in and out of the courtrooms of Paterson, New Jersey. A talented lawyer who knows how to play all the cards, he is torn between mending a marriage that no longer works and growing attached to a beautiful, no-nonsense private investigator. Besides his love for sports, Andy also adores Tara, a golden retriever clearly smarter than half the lawyers who clog the courts of Passaic County. Then one day the fun stops. Click here to read an excerpt.

12 thoughts on “Golden Retriever Rescuer & Author, David Rosenfelt

  1. I have not read any of Mr. Rosenfelt’s books but I will now. He must truly have a heart of gold. The world needs more people like him.

  2. I just finished Play Dead. a book I picked up purely by chance at the book store.

    I only read one line and knew I would be hooked. A Golden should never be caged.

    The book was fabulous and I can not wait to read some more of David’s stories.

  3. I was introduced to the Tara Fundaotin through reading Pay Dead. I absolutely loved it! Everything is better with animals. Last year, my Golden, Sunshine, went to heaven because arthrtis nd it ws eroding the quality of her was taking away her good life. We miss her. Sam and I have each other but it is very different, one dog rather than the two of them and the three of us. We might think about adopting. Sam is nearly 13, half Cocker Spanile and half Pointer, and a bit set in his ways as I am too. When I was in private practice, Sam was my co-therapist. At home, he was dominated by Sunshine and in some ways, now he is King of the household. Sunshine wanted all the attention during a therapy session— she was not a good co-therapist. Sunshine was guarding home, when Sam and I were working.

    I cannot be at the Pet store when they have dogs to adopt— I want to take them all home.
    I will definitely keep Tara Foundation in mind for adopting a Golden.

    Keep writing great books, I plan to read more of the past ones and future.

  4. Your book play dead is really a great book and that is so cool that you rescue dogs go to ragom.org and you will find lots of Goldens that need a forever home and you would be perfect.

  5. I found your books when I saw Play Dead on audible.com. Your sense of humor and love of dogs resonate with me 100%. When we built our present home, we bricked the floors so our cainine crew could have the run of the place. Our 2 Weimers share this place with 3 throw-aways– a pit bull puppy, a terrier, and a spaniel. How cool that you had the courage to invest your time and money in saving those beautiful Goldens. I had to smile when Willie set up his Tara Fondation in First Degree, because my own love of dogs was nutured by my grandfather, Willie Snyder.

  6. David: I lost your direct email address so decided to go to your site.

    We just lost our precious female Golden Avi last week. She was 11 and she honored us with her presence every day. She was truly the love of our life.

    My husband and I are devastated but are not really ready for taking on a puppy. I am 65 and he is 74 so we were thinking maybe an older dog that needs a loving home.

    We are retired and have two homes. One on a lake and one in Florida. The dog would travel back and forth with us. We never kenneled our dogs we always had a dog sitter if we went away.

    I am only asking this as a preliminary question – don’t know if we are ready. We have another Golden that is going to be 12 so we are very sensitive to his needs right now.

  7. David,
    In 1998, August, my wife and I were living in Yorba Linda, Ca. We adopted from the Tara Foundation the most lovabale dog ever known……his name was, “Spencer”, and he lived in your home. We met you and your wife at a vet clinic in Venice, where we met Spencer. As you may not remember, he was a cross between a Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier & a Bearded Collie. Spencer died in 2007.

    If you ever run across another Spencer, please call me!!!

    Regards,
    Mike Riley
    Prospect, Ky. 40059
    1-502-292=2380

  8. David’s audio books make me laugh outloud. His self
    deprecating and condensed humor is heartwarming.
    His attorney is a brilliant defender of human and animal
    underdogs. Rosenfelt is courageous in taking on
    institutional abuse as well.

  9. Being an animal lover and a crime mystery lover, I was very happy to come across this group of books and since then I have spent many hours enjoying these wonderfully humourous, comfortable books. I am so happy to know there is someone else out there caring for unwanted animals David. I hope by my purchasing your books that this will in some way contribute to the care of your rescued dogs. Keep writing, I am almost at the end of the books. Thanks so much. Lea/Ottawa Canada

  10. I started reading Mr Rosenfelt’s books & became addicted. I have recommended the Tara Foundation to some people who are looking for goldens.

  11. Thought I had read every book out there given my deep connection for these beauitful souls we call dogs. They are impossible not to love. You’re next on my list.

  12. I just finished One Dog Night and enjoyed it evey bit as much as Play Dead. I am going to look for the others. How great your family is to rescue so many dogs. We have 6, 2 rescue, 2 granddogs and two planned! We can not imagine life without them. Thank you
    “Some people do not understand us and it is their loss.”

Leave a Reply

