It’s a Dog’s Life… in Heaven

It’s a Dog’s Life… in Heaven
By Kayla Pongrac, The Daily American

Death ends a life, but it does not end a relationship, which struggles on in the survivor’s mind toward some final resolution, some clear meaning, which it perhaps never finds.” This is a quote from the play I Never Sang for my Father written by Robert Anderson that puts death in a precise perspective.Why must those we love be taken for granted, then taken away? Though faith allows both the departed and the survivor find peace, death is nonetheless a painful process.

Ginger was my companion. I spoiled her and allowed her to love me just as much as I loved her. Together we would take walks to the pond behind my house, where she would bark at the fish and run across the bank. She was my golden retriever, the faithful dog that greeted me everyday after school and shared Popsicles with me on the porch during the summer. She was my friend whom I nursed back to health after she got hit by a car three years ago.

Perhaps most importantly, she is now my guardian angel.

Ginger became ill in the beginning of September. Arthritis was the main concern at first; however, she lost several pounds as a result of dehydration and then began to have difficulty breathing. My Dad and I took her to the veterinarian, full of hope and high expectations despite her frail appearance. After examining her on a cold, steel table, the vet required said she needed to stay overnight. Unfortunately, Ginger died in the kennel that night because of severe kidney failure.

Anyone who has ever lost a beloved pet can agree that a wagging tail is as unforgettable as a smiling face. Ginger not only made herself at home in the corner of our garage, but in the corner of my heart. Though she died alone that night, I hope she found tranquility knowing that she was loved whole-heartedly.

Read more……

One thought on “It’s a Dog’s Life… in Heaven

Leave a Reply

